How do I contact the Board office?
You may reach the Board office by phone at 804-367-8526 or 804-367-8552, by fax at 804-527-4298, or by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org.
When I call the Board office, will I be able to speak directly with a Board member? No.
What are the qualifications for licensure by exam?
Salespersons- 60 hour course called “Principles of Real Estate & pass the State and National portions of the salesperson examination. Brokers-180 hour & pass the State and National Portions of the broker examination, & submit verification of experience
What are the broker education requirements?
180 classroom hours of Board approved courses are required. Proof of passing the course and a monitored final examination are required for course approval. You must complete at least three courses from the below-listed broker specific courses. One of the three must be a 45 classroom hour real estate brokerage course.
Broker-specific Courses: Real Estate Brokerage, Real Estate Law, Real Estate Finance, Real Estate Appraisal, The remaining hours may be broker related courses.
Broker-related Courses: Real Estate Economics Business Law, Real Estate Investments Property Management, Real Estate Abstracting Urban Developments, Real Estate Feasibility Analysis Commercial Mortgage Lending, Real Estate Math (completed before 12/86) Land Use Planning, GRI (all parts) CRB (all parts), CCIM (all parts) SIR/SIOR (all parts)
I am licensed in another state and wish to get licensed in Virginia. Can I apply through reciprocity?
Yes. Applicants for a salesperson’s license must pass the State portion of the examination and submit verification of completion of a 60 hour course. The salesperson MUST have a current salesperson license in another state.
Applicants for a broker’s license must pass the State portion of the examination, submit verification of experience, submit original transcripts or certified copies of transcripts from the educational institution where the applicant’s completed 180 classroom hours of real estate broker pre-licensing courses that and submit letters of certification from other jurisdictions where licensed. The broker MUST have a current broker license in another state.
How do I apply for the examination?
Contact the Board’s Testing Service, PSI, at 1-800-733-9267.
I am licensed in Virginia. I am applying for licensure in another state, but they are requesting verification of my Virginia licensure. What do I need to do?
Please send a check for $35 made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, along with a written request for a letter of certification. You can download a Certification Request form from www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/reb_form.cfm.
I need to renew my license, but I have not yet received my renewal form. What do I need to do?
Send in the renewal fee, make checks payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and include your license number on your check. You CANNOT continue to practice in Virginia after your license has expired or if your license is on inactive status.
My renewal payment was one day late and I have always paid on time, can you waive the late renewal fee? No.
If I did not renew my license on time because I did not receive my renewal card, do I still have to pay a late fee or reinstate my license?
Yes. Regulation 18 VAC 135-20-110 states that failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew.
My license is on inactive status. Do I still need to renew?
Yes, an inactive license must be renewed. The renewal fee is the same, however, an inactive licensee is not required to meet the continuing education requirements. **Note all salespersons(active or inactive) who are renewing their license for the first time MUST complete 30 hours of post license education instead of continuing education.**
My address has changed. What do I need to do to notify the Board?
All address changes must be received by the Board in writing.
My name has changed. What do I need to do to notify the Board?
All name changes must be received by the Board in writing.
View the entire FAQ